Revealed: The 77 schools set to run new £65m ‘teaching school hubs’

teaching school hubs

Seventy-seven schools have been selected to run 81 new teaching school hubs across England, with £65 million in funding made available by government.

It takes the total number of hubs to 87. Six initial hubs were announced in January last year with £1.1 million in initial funding, though this represented a scaling-back of the original plan for nine hubs with £2 million.

Teaching school hubs are the government’s latest school improvement initiative. They will provide “high-quality professional development” to teachers and leaders, and play a “key role in helping to build up trainee teachers as they enter the workforce”, the government said.

They will help deliver the government’s new early career framework of support for new teachers, and will provide national professional qualifications and initial teacher training.

Each of the 81 new hubs will have its own defined geographical patch and should be “accessible to all schools within that area, serving on average around 250 schools each”. They will begin operating in September. Four schools have been given funding to run two patches each, with the remaining 73 running one.

Schools running the hubs will split £65 million, which is to cover an initial period of three years.

The government said the appointment of the 81 hubs meant there would now be “nationwide coverage”, with every school in England due to have access to a “local centre of excellence for teacher training”.

Nick Gibb, the schools minister, said the hubs would “further support the profession by providing the best possible training and development opportunities”.

“It is important that teachers and school leaders feel supported in their career. The hubs will make this substantially easier, with expert practitioners able to give experienced advice to those schools able to benefit from it.”

The south of England and London have the most teaching school hubs, with 44, whereas there are 23 in the midlands and Humber and just 20 in the north.


The 77 schools running the 81 new hubs

East of England and north east London

Colchester County High School for Girls

Histon and Impington Junior School

Mulberry School for Girls

Notre Dame High School

Shaftesbury Primary School

Churchill Special Free School

Walthamstow School for Girls

Hethersett Academy


East Midlands and the Humber

Christ the King Catholic Voluntary Academy

The Carlton Junior Academy

Morley Primary School

Archbishop Holgate’s School

Humberston Academy

St Mary’s College, Voluntary Aided Catholic Academy

Witham St Hughs Academy

Chetwynd Primary Academy

The Flying High Academy, Ladybrook

Grange Lane Infant Academy (running two hubs – one in Barnsley and Doncaster and another in Selby and Wakefield)

Rushey Mead Academy


Lancashire and West Yorkshire

St John Plessington Catholic College

Tauheedul Islam Boys’ High School

The Morley Academy

Tauheedul Islam Girls’ High School

Tor View School

Altrincham Grammar School for Girls (running two hubs)

St Silas Church of England Primary School

Blue Coat C of E School

Evelyn Street Primary School

Shelley College

Eden Boys’ School Bolton

Grange Lane Infant Academy (running two hubs – one in Barnsley and Doncaster and another in Selby and Wakefield)



West Lakes Academy

King Edward VI High School

St. John Vianney School

Benedict Biscop CE Academy

Teesdale School and Sixth Form


North west London and south central England

Wembley High Technology College

Twyford CE High School

Paddington Academy

Sandringham School

Denbigh High School (running two hubs)

Brooke Weston Academy

The Cherwell School

Langley Grammar School

Dr Challoner’s Grammar School


South east and south London

Angel Oak Academy

Bennett Memorial Diocesan School (running two hubs)

Thornden School

Rosebery School

St John the Baptist School

Charles Dickens Primary

Portswood Primary School

Pickhurst Infant Academy

Chesterton Primary School

South Farnham School

Sir Joseph Williamson’s Mathematical School

Harris City Academy Crystal Palace


South west

The Quay School

Pate’s Grammar School

Colyton Grammar School

Montpelier High School

Mangotsfield Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School

Glenmoor Academy

Trenance Learning Academy

Colston’s Girls’ School

Balcarras School

The Roseland Academy


West midlands

Prince Henry’s High School

The Priory School

John Taylor High School

Tudor Grange Academy

Painsley Catholic College

Lawrence Sheriff School

Haybridge High School and Sixth Form

Manor Primary School

The Arthur Terry School

St Joseph’s College

Ark St Alban’s Academy


Schools running existing ‘test and learn hubs’

Copthorne Primary School

Harris Academy Chafford Hundred

Harrogate Grammar School

Kingsbridge Academy

Saffron Walden County High School

Silverdale School

Your thoughts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

One comment

  1. Peter Read

    Ten of these 77 schools are grammar schools. The comprehensive Bennett Memorial, with its tight Christian admission criteria has a lower percentage of pupil premium children than any other non-selective school in the county, and lower than more than half of Kent grammar schools, although with two teaching hubs has clearly been especially chosen for the purpose. Will trainee teachers get the rounded training sought at these hubs?