65 winners scoop silver Pearson teaching awards for 2018

Sixty-five silver Pearson teaching awards have been handed out across the country, in the 20th year of celebrating excellence in education.

The trophies will be presented to outstanding teachers, teaching assistants, headteachers and lecturers in schools and colleges across England, Wales and Northern Ireland, following thousands of nominations.

Silver award winners will go on to the 20th UK ceremony of the Pearson teaching awards, which will be held in central London on October 21. There they will find out which of them has achieved one of just 12 Gold Plato awards, considered the UK’s teaching Oscars.

This year’s ceremony, entitled “Britain’s classroom heroes”, will be filmed and broadcast by the BBC as a showcase of excellence in education.

Previous award presenters have included former prime ministers David Cameron and Tony Blair, acting legends Jenny Agutter, Alison Steadman and Sheila Hancock, and sports and TV personalities including  Strictly Come Dancing’s Brendan Cole and The Great British Bake Off’s Nadiya Hussain.

Eleven teachers and teams from across the UK were named as the winners of the 2017 awards in October, at a ceremony hosted by BBC presenter Naga Munchetty and broadcaster Sean Fletcher.

The staff team at the Rowans Alternative Provision Academy in Kent won the school team of the year award, and special guests included the Olympic rower Heather Stanning and Strictly judge Shirley Ballas.

As part of the celebrations this year, members of the public can say a special thank-you to a teacher who has made a difference in their lives by leaving a message on an online form at, and the teacher will receive a card in the post for free.

“The best we can do is to pass on to children all that we know and love and mean every word. I think above all else, a teacher should be a friend, and that’s not an easy thing to do when there are 35 children out there,” said Michael Morpurgo, an author and former Children’s laureate, who is president of the Teaching Awards Trust.

“With these awards we are shining a light on these inspirational individuals whose efforts and commitment so often go uncelebrated.”

Rod Bristow, the president of Pearson UK, added “huge congratulations to all those receiving a silver trophy today”.

“They should feel extremely proud of their achievements and join an inspirational group of Teaching Award winners from the past two decades,” he continued.

“It’s an honour for Pearson to support these awards each year – it’s so vital to recognise and  celebrate those in the teaching profession, for their commitment to education and for the impact they have on young people’s lives.“

The full list of this year’s silver award winners:

School of the year – ‘Making a difference’, supported by Future First

Benjamin Adlard Primary School, Gainsborough, Lincolnshire

Cambourne Village College, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire

Dixons Trinity Academy, Bradford, West Yorkshire

Fullhurst Community College, Leicester, Leicestershire

Jo Richardson Community School, Dagenham, Essex

Outstanding new teacher of the year

Ms Lisa Buckley, Lakeside School, Liverpool, Merseyside

Ms Charlotte Grace, Outwood Academy Shafton, Barnsley, South Yorkshire

Mr Ryan Mallett, Ormiston Chadwick Academy, Widnes, Cheshire

Ms Jane Woo, Christ’s College Finchley, London

Teacher of the year in a primary school

Ms Jane Brown, Brundall Primary School, Brundall, Norfolk

Mrs Heather Cooper, Spire Junior School, Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Miss Caroline Duffy, Mercy Primary School, Belfast

Mrs Nicola Fredrickson, St. Helen’s Primary School, Sandfields, Swansea

Mr James Horwood, Fourfields Community Primary School, Peterborough, Cambs

Ms Laura McDonald, Hillcrest Early Years Academy, Gainsborough, Lincolnshire

Mr Andy Silvester, Crowmarsh Gifford C of E Primary School, Wallingford, Oxfordshire

Ms Jan Wilson, The Mount School, York, North Yorkshire

Teacher of the year in a secondary school, supported by SSAT

Mr Jay Bradley, The Academy of St Francis of Assisi, Liverpool, Merseyside

Miss Romayne Charles, Higham Lane School, Nuneaton, Warwickshire

Mr Tom Knott, The Totteridge Academy, London

Mr Christopher Langmead, Tor Bridge High School, Plymouth, Devon

Mr Ashley Lewis, The Morley Academy, Leeds, West Yorkshire

Mr Dale McMorran, Wymondham College, Wymondham, Norfolk

Ms Shalina Patel, Claremont High School Academy, Harrow, Middlesex

Miss Helen Reddy, Ivybridge Community College, Ivybridge, Devon

Ms Victoria Withall, The Elizabethan Academy, Retford, Nottinghamshire

Headteacher of the year in a primary school

Mr Chris Flathers, The Gold Star Federation – Goldbeaters & The Orion Primary Schools, Edgware, London

Ms Maggie Rose, Timberley Academy, Birmingham, West Midlands

Headteacher of the year in a secondary school

Mr Ben Antell, Glenmoor and Winton Academies, Bournemouth, Dorset

Mrs Andrea English, The Oaks Secondary School, Spennymoor, Co Durham

Mrs Leanne Griffiths, The Morley Academy, Leeds, West Yorkshire

Mr Ron Searle, The Warwick School, Redhill, Surrey

Lifetime achievement

Ms Valerie Dunsford, Sheffield High School for Girls, Sheffield, South Yorkshire

Ms Gillian Edge, Killinghall Primary School, Bradford, West Yorkshire

Mr Bruce Goddard, Highlands School, London

Ms Janet Macleod, Sawston Village College, Sawston, Cambridgeshire

Mrs Jennifer Sims, Saffron Walden County High School, Saffron Walden, Essex

Outstanding use of technology in education, supported by Google

Ms Kate Farrell, Homewood School and Sixth Form Centre, Tenterden, Kent

Dr Jamie Frost, Tiffin School, Kingston-Upon-Thames, Surrey

Miss Louise Porter, Ribblesdale High School, Clitheroe, Lancashire

Mr Lee Whitmarsh, Alsager School, Alsager, Cheshire

Mr Matt Woodfine, Hinchingbrooke School, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire

Excellence in special needs education

Ms Bethany Barnsley, Devonshire Infant and Junior Academies, Smethwick, West Midlands

Mrs Dawn Broom, Fir Vale School Academy Trust, Sheffield, South Yorkshire

Ms Aimee Jackson, Henshaws Specialist College, Harrogate, North Yorkshire

Mr Mark Lambert, Tyne Coast College, South Shields, Tyne and Wear

Ms Marie Watson, The Royal School for the Deaf, Derby

Teaching assistant of the year

Mr Christopher Haywood, Almondbury Community School, Huddersfield, West Yorkshire

Mr James Poynter, Clacton County High School, Clacton-on-Sea, Essex

Ms Amy Westwood, New Horizons Academy, Warrington, Cheshire

FE lecturer of the year

Mr Joe Cornmell, LIPA Sixth Form College, Liverpool, Merseyside

Ms Charmaine Hale-Lynch, Weston College, Weston-super-Mare, Somerset

Mr Jonathan Wharton, Sunderland College, Sunderland

FE team of the year

The Essential Skills Team, Belfast Metropolitan College, Belfast

The Performing Arts Team, Gower College, Swansea, Wales

The Welfare and Pastoral Support Services Team, Weston College, Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset

The Teaching Team in the Programme Area of Education, Leisure and Wellbeing, Leyton Sixth Form College, London



Latest education roles from

Apprenticeship Skills Tutor – Level 7 Senior Leadership / Management

Apprenticeship Skills Tutor – Level 7 Senior Leadership / Management

RNN Group

GCSE and Functional Skills English Lecturer

GCSE and Functional Skills English Lecturer

Riverside College

MIS (Management Information Systems) Assistant

MIS (Management Information Systems) Assistant

RNN Group

EA to the CEO & Senior Directors

EA to the CEO & Senior Directors

Haberdashers’ Academies Trust South

Chief Executive Officer Cornwall Education Learning Trust (CELT)

Chief Executive Officer Cornwall Education Learning Trust (CELT)

Satis Education

Head of Faculty (History and RS)

Head of Faculty (History and RS)

Ark Greenwich Free School

Your thoughts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *