Professional development expert panel members revealed by DfE

The names of the ten people to sit on the “expert panel” for professional development have been announced.

Sean Harford, Ofsted’s national director of schools policy, is to be the official “observer” of the panel.

The group is expected to publish a new standard early next year.

The panel:
– David Weston (chair): CEO, Teacher Development Trust (TDT), a former physics and maths secondary teacher, and governor at a primary and a secondary school

Professor Rob Coe: professor of education and director, CEM Centre, Durham, and an author of the TDT’s systematic review into effective teacher development

Philippa Cordingley: founder and CEO, Centre for the Use of Research and Evidence in Education (CUREE), and an author of the TDT’s systematic review into effective teacher development

–  Hélène Galdin-O’Shea: research advocate, Park High School, Harrow, London, and co-founder of ResearchED

–  Simon Knight: special school deputy headteacher, Frank Wise School, Oxfordshire; associate director, National Education Trust; and director of teaching school at the Oxfordshire Teaching Schools Alliance

– Stéphanie Lefort: head of teaching and learning development, Aylsham School, Norfolk

Micon-Metcalfe-bio-pic– Micon Metcalfe (pictured left): SLE (specialist leader of education) in school business management, Dunraven School, Streatham, London

– Dame Alison Peacock: NLE (national leader of education) and headteacher, Wroxham School, and a member of the Teaching Schools Council

– Alex Quigley: curriculum deputy, director of learning and research, and English teacher, Huntington School, York

Tom-Sherrington-small– Tom Sherrington (also pictured left): headteacher, Highbury Grove School, Islington, and founding member of the Headteachers’ Roundtable

They will be advised by the following “guest members”:

– Jonathan Sharples: senior researcher, Education Endowment Foundation, and partnerships manager, Institute for Effective Education, University of York

– Professor Jonathan Shepherd: honorary fellow, Royal College of Surgeons; commission member, Royal College of Teaching, The Prince’s Teaching Institute Commission; College of Policing proposer; council member, Academy of Medical Sciences; and member of the Home Office Science Advisory Council

Your thoughts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.