Headteacher boards: the full list of elected and appointed board members

Headteacher boards (HTBs) are part of the government’s new ‘middle tier’ of accountability for academies, with each of the eight new regional school commissioners being supported by a HTB.

HTB are made up of four elected members – chosen by other academy heads – plus two members appointed by the relevant regional schools commissioner. HTBs also have the option of co-opting up to two further members.

The full list of elected and appointed members has been released to Schools Week and is given below. Co-opted members will be reported once the HTBs have decided who to co-opt.

Regional schools commissionerHTB memberRoleSchool/academy trust/other organisationAppointment route
Paul SmithJane AcklamPrincipalMoor End AcademyElected
 Pamela BirchPrincipalHambleton Primary SchoolElected
 Martin ShevillPrincipalOssett Academy and Sixth Form CollegeElected
 Alan YellupCEOWakefield City AcademyElected
 Sir Iain HallChairGreat Schools For All Children trustAppointed
 Sir Michael WilkinsChief executiveOutwood Grange Academies TrustAppointed
Janet RenouZoe CarrExecutive headteacherTown End AcademyElected
 Chris ClarkeHeadteacherQueen Elizabeth SchoolElected
 Nick HurnHeadteacherCardinal Hume Catholic SchoolElected
 Lesley PowellPrincipalThe Academy at Shotton HallElected
 Les WaltonChair; advisorNorthern Education Trust; Education Funding Advisory BoardAppointed
 Andrew BaystonExecutive principalHarrogate High SchoolAppointed
Dominic HerringtonRhona BarnfieldExecutive headteacherHoward of Effingham SchoolElected
 Ian BauckhamHeadteacherBennett Memorial Diocesan SchoolElected
 Andrew CarterHeadteacherSouth Farnham SchoolElected
 Denise ShepherdExecutive headteacherRochester Grammar SchoolElected
 Nikki KingHonorary chairman, former managing directorIsuzu Truck UK LtdAppointed
 Angela BarryExecutive headteacherThe Woodland Academy TrustAppointed
Martin PostRichard EdwardsHeadteacherNicholas Hawksmoor Primary SchoolElected
 Sir Michael GriffithsHeadteacherNorthampton School for BoysElected
 Claire RobinsHeadteacherSir John Lawes SchoolElected
 Teresa Tunnadine CBEHeadteacherThe Compton SchoolElected
 Dame Alison PeacockExecutive headteacherThe Wroxham SchoolAppointed
 Kate DethridgeHeadteacherChurchend Primary AcademyAppointed
Pank PatelMike DonoghuePrincipalJohn Taylor High SchoolElected
 Billy DownieHeadteacherThe Streetly AcademyElected
 David SeddonPrincipalBaxter CollegeElected
 Sally YatesHeadteacherDeanery Church of England Primary SchoolElected
 Sir Mark GrundyExecutive principalShireland Collegiate AcademyAppointed
 Linda DavisHeadteacherWistaston AcademyAppointed
Sir David CarterDave BakerExecutive headteacherBradley Stoke Community School and Abbeywood Community SchoolElected
 Lorraine HeathHeadteacherUffculme SchoolElected
 Lisa MannallExecutive principalTrenance Learning Academy TrustElected
 Roger PopePrincipalKingsbridge Community CollegeElected
 Nick CapstickExecutive headteacher; chief executiveThe Croft primary School, The White Horse FederationAppointed
 Brian HooperChief executiveAmbitions Academy TrustAppointed
Dr Tim CoulsonCaroline HaynesPrincipalTendring Technology CollegeElected
 Stephen MundayExecutive principalComberton Village CollegeElected
 Debbie RoganExecutive headteacherThe Wickford Church of England School and Briscoe PrimaryElected
 Margaret WilsonHeadteacherThe King John School Academy TrustElected
 Rachel De SouzaChief executiveInspiration TrustAppointed
 Steve LancashireChief executiveReach2 Academy TrustAppointed
Jenny Bexon-SmithChris BeckettLeadership consultant; retired headteacherCambridge Meridian Academies Trust; The Deepings SchoolElected
 Hugh HoweExecutive principalBeauchamp CollegeElected
 Christine LinnittHeadteacherHolywell Primary SchoolElected
 Geoff LloydRetired principalTuxford AcademyElected
 Andy BurnsPrincipalRedhill AcademyAppointed
 Christine AbbottExecutive principalSouth Hunsley School and Sixth Form CollegeAppointed

Your thoughts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *