Full list: members of Workload Challenge working groups announced

The Department for Education (DfE) has released the names of the 41 people who will make up three working groups aimed at reducing teachers’ workload.

Education secretary Nicky Morgan announced in July that three groups would focus on marking, planning and resources, and data management.

She said the areas were highlighted in the DfE’s Workload Challenge survey, launched earlier this year, which garnered 44,000 responses from teachers.

Each group has 14 members, made up of headteachers, teachers, education professionals and representatives from Ofsted and the main trade unions. Sean Harford, Ofsted’s national director for education is on two of the panels.

The DfE said the groups will make recommendations by “late spring” next year.

Marking Policy Review Group

1. Dawn Copping (Chair), headteacher, Shaw Primary School
2. Dame Kate Dethridge, headteacher, Churchend Primary School
3. David Didau, freelance consultant and blogger, The Learning Spy Ltd
4. Nicky Easey, assessment Leader, The Wroxham Primary School
5. Michael Eszrenyi, modern foreign languages teacher, Barr Beacon School
6. Carolyn Fox, executive headteacher, Rise Park Academy Trust
7. Sean Harford, HMI, national director, education, Ofsted
8. Rose Murphy, classroom teacher and phase leader, St George’s Roman Catholic Primary School
9. Darren Northcott, national official (Education), NASUWT
10. Emma Thom, deputy headteacher, Plantsbrook Secondary School
11. Ian Toone, director of policy and research services, Voice the Union
12. Mick Walker, independent education consultant
13. Amanda Whittingham, assistant headteacher and head of English, Wensley Fold Church of England Primary School
14. Yvonne Williams, head of English, Portsmouth High School for Girls

Planning and Resources Review Group

1. Kathryn Greenhalgh (Chair), senior director of mathematics, Outwood Grange Academies Trust
2. Lesley Allwood, headteacher, Winteringham Primary School
3. Barry Blakelock, headteacher, Princes Plain Primary School
4. Christine Counsell, senior lecturer, Cambridge University
5. Lucy Crehan, international researcher and senior research associate, National Education Trust
6. Nansi Ellis, assistant general secretary, Association of Teachers and Lecturers
7. Professor Lianghuo Fan, personal chair in education, University of Southampton
8. Kirsty Holder, head of humanities, Fortismere Secondary School
9. Kathryn James, deputy general secretary, National Association of Head Teachers
10. John Malynn, principal officer, schools policy, Ofsted
11. Helena Marsh, deputy principal, Linton Village College
12. Rebecca Potter, classroom teacher, Copley Primary School
13. Ben Smith, assistant headteacher, North Kesteven School
14. Laura Stone, director of sixth form, Burlington Danes Academy

Data Management Review Group

1. Lauren Costello (Chair), managing director, The White Horse Federation
2. Deborah Ajose, headteacher, Baylis Court Secondary School
3. Duncan Baldwin, deputy director of policy, Association of School and College Leaders
4. Edison David, headteacher, Vauxhall Primary School
5. Rich Davies, head of data, Ark schools
6. Sean Harford, HMI, national director, Ofsted
7. Anna Jones, Year 6 teacher, South Farnham School
8. Ken Jones, senior policy officer, curriculum and assessment, National Union of Teachers
9. Chris Martin, deputy headteacher, Mountbatten Secondary School
10. Philip Rimmer, director of education, Rowan Learning Trust
11. Melanie Shute, Year 6 teacher, Histon and Impington Junior School
12. Rachel Skentelbury, head of statistical quality and methodology, Ofsted
13. Matthew Stevenson, assistant headteacher, Henbury Secondary School
14. Sarah Thompson, principal, South Axholme Secondary School

Your thoughts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.