College of Teaching announces 15 committee members to choose founding trustees

The search has started to find 13 trustees who will lead the formation of the College of Teaching.

The Government announced in March it would fund the college to help raise the status of teaching.

It will champion the profession by sharing knowledge and supporting teachers’ development.

Now a committee has been set up to find 13 founding trustees. They will be tasked with establishing the college, which will be independent from government.

Advertisements put out by Claim Your College – a campaign group backing the college – states trustees will play a key leadership and governance role.

They will be asked to help create a body to deliver a broad vision and able to attract enough members to make it sustainable.

A selection committee has been formed to oversee the recruitment process. They were nominated for their expertise in the teaching profession by academy principles, unions and governor associations.

They are:

* Melanie Aley, headteacher, primary
* Eugene Dapper, year progress leader in a London secondary
* Ben Driver, secondary maths specialist at King’s College School
* Graham Goldup, senior assistant headteacher, Cardinal Newman Catholic School, Hove
* Alex Grady, SEN specialist, chair of governors
* Sue Hincks, headmistress of the girls’ division of Bolton School
* Kaisra Khan, teaching and learning co-ordinator, The Kingsmead School
* Kim Knappett, key stage 3 science lead in a South London boys’ community school
* Anne Lyons, headteacher, St John Fischer Catholic Primary School
* Heather McKenzie, SENCO co-ordinator and assistant headteacher
* Lorne Pearcey, teacher, King Edward VI Camp Hill Boys’ School
* Marva Rollins, headteacher
* Michael Tidd, deputy headteacher, primary and nursery school
* Wendy Tomes, executive headteacher, Sidney Stringer Multi-Academy Trust
* Carl Ward, chief executive, City Learning Trust and selection committee chair
The closing date for applications is noon on June 16. The roles are voluntary. For more information visit


Picture: Deputy headteacher Michael Tidd who will sit on the selection committee

Your thoughts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.