Revealed: The winners of the Nasen Awards 2021

Thirteen schools, individuals and organisations recognised for work supporting children with SEND

Thirteen schools, individuals and organisations recognised for work supporting children with SEND

Schools, individuals and organisations have been recognised for their work for children with special educational needs and disabilities at the annual nasen awards.

The fifth annual awards, organised by the National Association for Special Educational Needs and, this week produced 13 winners across England.

They include Whitefield Primary School in Liverpool, Henley Bank High School in Brockworth and Bramfield House School in Halesworth.

Colin May from Torbay has won the SEND leader of the year award, while Carla Baker from Bournemouth was named as learning support staff member of the year. Abed Ahmed won the teacher of the year award.

The youth achievement award went to Hope Whittaker, a nine-year-old south London girl who is autistic.

Annamarie Hassall, nasen’s chief executive, said by spotlighting “hard work, inclusive best practice and sheer determination to achieve in spite of challenges, we hope to inspire others in the education and SEND sector”.

“As CEO at my first nasen Awards, I was humbled by the calibre of nominations and the incredible work schools, individuals and organisations are doing to achieve such fantastic outcomes for children and young people with SEND and learning differences.

“This past 18-months have been particularly challenging for us all, and have greatly impacted the educational experience of all children and young people.”

Nasen awards 2021: The winners

The nasen Award for Early Years Provision, sponsored by Nursery WorldAnglia Sunshine Nurseries in Sudbury
The nasen Award for Primary Provision, sponsored by GL AssessmentWhitefield Primary School in Liverpool
The nasen Award for Secondary Provision, sponsored by Seeds of ChangeHenley Bank High School in Brockworth
The nasen Award for 16-25 Provision, sponsored by Brain in HandDerwen College in Oswestry
Specialist Provision of the Year Award, sponsored by IDLBramfield House School in Halesworth
The nasen Award for Co-production with Children and Young People and their Families, sponsored by The Seashell TrustThe Grove Pastoral Team in Haringey
Young Person/Youth (up to 25 years) Achievement Award, sponsored by Neurodiversity Networks CICHope Whittaker, aged 9, from South London
SEND Leader of the Year Award, sponsored by National Education UnionColin May from Torbay
Learning Support Staff Member of the Year Award, sponsored by Axcis EducationCarla Baker from Bournemouth
nasen Teacher of the Year Award, sponsored by EquazenAbed Ahmed from Birmingham
The Innovation Award for Technology, sponsored by Scanning PensIDLS in Lancaster
The David Ryan Publication Award – in honour of late nasen trustee, David Ryan, sponsored by Maths For LifeDr Niamh Mourton from Derby
The International Provision of the Year Award, sponsored by Institute of Child Education & Psychology (ICEP) EuropeSteps with Theera in Thailand

Your thoughts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.