Another 18 schools and colleges named as ‘edtech demonstrators’

The government has announced another 18 schools and colleges handed up to £150,000 each to become “edtech demonstrators”.

They will help other schools to use technology to support remote learning after the programme was repurposed amid the coronavirus pandemic.

The first 20 schools were announced in April. The scheme is part of the government’s £10 million edtech strategy, launched by former education secretary Damian Hinds, to “harness the power of technology in schools”.

The announcement today includes eight schools, along with the Outwood Grange Academies Trust and a partnership between West Suffolk College Group and Suffolk Academies Trust.

The remaining eight or colleges or further education providers.

The programme aims to help education providers who are “using technology effectively” to share their expertise. The providers are awarded between £70,000 and £150,000 in grant funding, with the scheme running until the end of March next year.

Most schools have to be rated ‘good’ or ‘outstanding’ and “satisfy” the DfE that they have “robust financial controls, including financial reserves”.

The guidance states that “all programme support will now be provided remotely” during the outbreak.


The 18 new ‘edtech demonstrators’

Dalton St Mary’s Primary School

Denbigh High School with Challney High School for Girls (Chiltern Learning Trust)

DCG (Derby College Group)

Elizabeth Woodville Primary School

Exeter College

Grimsby Institute of Further and Higher Education – part of The TEC Partnership

GST King’s Warrington

Harlow College

Heart of Worcestershire College

The Manchester College (part of LTE Group)

Oldham Sixth Form College

Outwood Grange Academies Trust

Pheasey Park Farm Primary School and Early Years Centre

Reach Academy Feltham

Stephenson Memorial Primary School

West Suffolk College Group and Suffolk Academies Trust including Abbeygate Sixth Form College and One Sixth Form College, Swavesey Village College and the ConnectED Teaching School Alliance led by Barrow Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School

Wilberforce College

Wildern School

Your thoughts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.