Bumper year as 102 winners scoop silver Pearson Teaching Awards for 2021

Inspirational teachers, leaders, support staff and schools from across the country have been honoured today for their outstanding commitment to changing the lives of their students.

A total of 102 winners have scooped silver awards in the annual Pearson National Teaching Awards. The names have been announced to coincide with national Thank a Teacher day.

The hard work and dedication of teachers in schools, colleges and across the education sector during the pandemic has been inspiring

The silver award winners (full list below) will now be shortlisted to win one of 15 gold awards. The winners of the final will be announced in the autumn on The One Show.

Author Sir Michael Morpurgo, president of the Teaching Awards Trust, said Thank a Teacher Day “gives us all a chance –  children, families, all of us – to pay tribute to those wonderful educators who change more lives than they will ever know”.

“Today we say thank you to the teachers who have helped our young people navigate these most difficult of times, and who will continue to inspire countless young minds over the coming years.”

Sharon Hague, senior vice president of schools at Pearson UK, said she wanted to “say thank you to all the incredible school staff who have kept children and young people learning despite unprecedented challenges”.

“We hope the celebrations today show how much you are appreciated, and that your hard work has not gone unnoticed nor unrecognised.”

This year represents a big rise in winners. There were 76 winners last year and 68 in 2019.

Williamson hails ‘remarkable’ support

Education secretary Gavin Williamson said the “hard work and dedication” of teachers during the pandemic had been “inspiring”.

“While our teachers deserve the country’s recognition every year, this year’s Thank A Teacher Day is even more significant.

“The support they have provided children, young people and adults has been remarkable, and each and every one of us should be grateful for the part they have played over the past 18 months.”

New research from Parentkind and The Teaching Awards Trust found that three in four parents and carers had newfound respect for the profession following their experiences of remote learning.


The Award for Teacher of the Year in a Primary School, supported by Randstad

Catherine Magee, St Comgall’s Primary School

Jacqueline Birch, St.Peter’s C of E Primary School

Jade Martin, Loscoe CofE Primary School

Jill Stevens, Collingbourne CofE Primary School

Melissa Sladen, Sir John Sherbrooke Junior School

Rebecca Sutton, Whiteley Primary School

Ross Hasler, Honiton Primary School

Ryan Walters, Ernesettle Community School

Stacey Harris, Coed Eva Primary

Tim Eustace, St Peter’s CofE Primary School

Yasmin Taylor, Roundhay School Primary Campus


The Award for Teacher of the Year in a Secondary School, supported by Nord Anglia Education

Abigail Chase, Bassaleg School

Andrew Kyprianou, WMG Academy for Young Engineers Coventry

Emma Beaton, Sandringham School

Hope Vardon-Prince, Northolt High School

Jane Marshall, Rainhill High School

Karen Sims, Solihull Alternative Provision Academy

Lisa Kelly, The Gateway Academy

Mark Bailey, Netherhall School

Matthew Shaw, The Ruth Gorse Academy

Rachel Glasgow, Monkton Senior School

Robert Thorp, Hitchin Boys’ School

Ute Steenkamp, The Gateway Academy

Victoria Carey, Mary Immaculate High School


The Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Primary School, supported by Hays Education

Gerard Curley, Neilston Primary School

Jeremy Hannay, Three Bridges Primary School

Navroop Mehat, Wexham Court Primary School

Philip Barlow, Chantlers Primary School

Reema Reid, Hollydale Primary School

David Jenkins, Ysgol ty Coch (all-through school, joint with secondary)


The Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Secondary School, supported by Hays Education

Alan Pithie, Auchmuty High School

Michael Allen, Lisneal College

Steve Elliott, Wrenn School

David Jenkins, Ysgol ty Coch (all-through school, joint with primary)


The Award for Lifetime Achievement, supported by DfE

Gerrard Smith, The Jo Richardson Community School

Marie Lindsay, Saint Mary’s College

Mary Graham, Kingsdale Foundation School

Rosemary Littler, Liscard Primary School

Sheila Edgar, The Elizabethan Academy

Stuart Maxwell, Eastwood High School

Sue Bailey, The Arthur Terry School


The Award for Outstanding New Teacher of the Year, supported by DfE

Aashna Jethmalani, Haileybury Turnford

Georgina Pennycook, Heathcote School

Hannah Lewis, Troedyrhiw Community Primary

Joseph Gill, Willows High School

Rob Plumbly, Swallowfield Lower School

Sam Craggs, Malton School

Zoe Leyland, Summerseat Methodist Primary School


The Award for Teaching Assistant of the Year

Dawn Watts, Western Community Primary School

Dorota Hall, St Edward’s School

Ian Clash, New Horizons Learning Centre – Secondary

Madison Bertalan, Fourfields Community Primary School

Mark Berryman, Chiltern Way Academy – Wendover Campus

Ruth Riley, Ballykelly Primary School


The Award for Making a Difference – Primary School of the Year, supported by PiXL

Arthur Bugler Primary School

Chantlers Primary School

Hudson Road Primary School

Khalsa Primary School

Manorfield Primary School

Roundhay School Primary Campus


The Award for Making a Difference – Secondary School of the Year, supported by PiXL

Casterton College, Rutland

Sedgefield Community College

Wymondham College


The Award for Impact through Partnership

ACS International Schools Partnerships, ACS International Schools

Haringey Learning Partnership

The Isle of Arran Cluster, Arran High School

The Roma – Narrowing the Gap Team, Queen Katharine Academy


The Award for Excellence in Special Needs Education

Aine Mellon, St Patricks & St Brigids College

Rachel Elliott Downing, Kenton School

Sam Newton, The Children’s Trust School

Sarah Anderson Rawlins, Riverside Meadows Academy

Stephen Evans, Derwen College


The Award for Digital Innovator of the Year, supported by Nord Anglia Education

Calum Coutts, Riverbrae School

Catriona Houston, St Patrick’s College

Christian Aspinall, Eldon Primary School

Emma Darcy, Denbigh High School

Joe Yates, Rowledge C of E Primary School

Michael Law, Park View Primary School Cambuslang

Toby Osborne, Ferndown Upper School


The Award for FE Lecturer of the Year, supported by DfE

Carina Ancell, Newham Sixth Form College

Gemma Westlake, Basingstoke College of Technology

Jonathan Rogers, Gower College Swansea

Laura Denton, Grimsby Institute of Further and Higher Education

Melissa Tisdale, Walsall College

Paul Mercer, South Eastern Regional College (Bangor)


The Award for FE Team of the Year, supported by DfE

The Beauty Therapy and Makeup Artistry Team, North Warwickshire and South Leicestershire College

The Foundation Learning Team, Telford College

The Hospitality and Catering Team, Eastleigh College

The PE Department, New College Pontefract

The Performing Arts Team, Newham Sixth Form College

The Sports Department, Wigan and Leigh College


The Lockdown Hero Award for Learner and Community Support

All Saints CE Primary School, Bolton

Blaine Stewart, Derrygonnelly Primary School

Canolfan Elfed Inclusion Centre, Queen Elizabeth High School

Eden Academy Trust’s Family Services Team, Pentland Field School

Edmund Rice College, Edmund Rice College

Frankie Arundel, Firth Park Academy

Ian Sippitt, Aurora Eccles School

Matt Jenkins and Jo Fison, The Deaf Academy

Rebecca Garratt, The Wyre Forest School

Sarah Gray, St Mary’s C of E Primary

Star Academies

The Poppy Academy Trust, Fair Field Junior School


Your thoughts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *